A Few Reasons to Be Thankful

*disclaimer- This will be a more personal post than what I usually write.

As I wait out the last few hours of my DNA sample prep for the day on the night before Thanksgiving, I’m realizing I have a lot to be thankful for this year. I graduated and got a job a month later, I’ve been able to travel for work (Louisiana, Texas, Wisconsin, Minnesota and South Dakota so far). If all things go as planned I will be free from my student loan debt by next July. My family is doing great and even though I won’t be able to see them this weekend, I’ll be able to spend a week in Wisconsin over Christmas (with my new nephew Kallan!) I’ve met some good new friends in San Francisco and am still trying to import some old ones here (Michael, this means you. And Fiz is now closer!). My roommate and I are going to be upgrading apartments to a 2-bedroom finally, and I will be keeping it clean (yes Melissa and Leslie, I know you’re laughing, but I’ve been doing a good job so far). I’ve been able to work out quite a bit and am looking into spring or summer marathons. I could go on for awhile, but I also want to update you on one big thing.

The Cross Country Scholarship I started and talked about here has officially been approved and is taking donations! This year, two seniors from Case High School’s Cross Country team will be receiving $500 scholarships funded by donations from alumni, friends, and parents. This is what I am most thankful for, the chance to be able to give back to my hometown. My success and good fortune would mean nothing if I couldn’t use it to help others. I’m asking my friends and family, if you were planning on getting me a Christmas present, please instead donate to this scholarship. Any amount would be extremely helpful, and nothing would make me happier than being able to fully endow this fund in the next 5-10 years. If you can, please send a check made out to J.I. Case High School with “Cross Country Scholarship” in the memo line to this address:

Mrs. Muffick
7345 Washington Avenue
Racine, WI 53406

I hope you all have a wonderful Holiday, and remember that we all have a lot to be thankful for!

-CF

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

