A Second Beginning

Greetings, I apologize for taking so long to post to the blog that my friend CF and I have created.  Now that I finally have access and am finally getting around to it you should see a few post from me in the near future.  I will be keeping pace with the same style that CF has already established and I want to emphasize some of the points that were made about “The Silent Majority” in his first blog post https://asilentmajority.wordpress.com/2010/11/18/a-beginning/. By no means does this blog represent a majority of people but of my own personal opinions and views as a twenty-four year old Italian Polish American.  I’ve spent the majority of my last four years in service to the UW-System students.  I’ve worked with countless students, student organizations and UW campuses on a variety of issues, ranging from lobbying on the state budget on the behalf of students, to working with the African American Union of UW-Waukesha to host events.

I’ve always been a huge believer in the first amendment of the constitution which guarantees us freedom of religion, speech, and press; rights of assembly and petition.  All of these will be incorporated into my blog in some way or another in my posts, but right now I want to emphasize the importance and the miss conceptions on freedom of speech.  This is the one freedom that is abused the most.  Just because you can say whatever is in your head, doesn’t necessarily mean it should actually come out of your mouth.  Speech can be a powerful tool for the good of man kind, but also a weapon used to hurt others.  Just because we have a right to use something doesn’t mean we should abuse it. The freedoms and rights that our founding fathers fought for and that countless young Americans fought so hard to give us should not be taken lightly.  Those of us who use freedom of speech on a regular basis and to a larger audience have an obligation and responsibility to be to hold ourselves to a higher standard.  Now, what do you do when someone doesn’t show respect for our freedoms, and abuses it? The answer is very simple actually, “In free countries, every man is entitled to express his opinions and every other man is entitled not to listen.” –G. Norman Collie

Having said that I now make this promise to my readers. I will speak from the heart but will be mindful of my words. I will be honest but will never speak to hurt.  My goal is to share with you all, like CF, our perspective on governance, State Government, Student Issues, and related topics in general, but with an end to the goal.  This blog will not be a place to vent or to complain, but to try and address an issue, and hopefully to come up with a solution or to at least spark a discussion for a solution.

I’m not a history major, but I do reflect very often about our country’s past, and will often times give a quick background in my posts about what has happened in the past and how knowing the past can help us to avoid the same fallacies we have gotten ourselves into in the future.  In my next post I will be touching on a key issue that has been in the main stream for the past 200 years or so, but has never been satisfactorily discussed, due to fear and misinterpretations of the topic.  I hope you will find the time to read my upcoming post, as it will be essential to the work I will be doing these coming months and there is a strong need for healthy discussion.

In closing I will follow suit with Mr. CF and reiterate his house keeping remarks.  We encourage discussion and thoughtful comments and we look forward to opposing views to help all of us get a better understanding of where we all come from.  Please avoid personal attacks, I think I made it very clear earlier the importance of speech and its use, and I hope all of you will take those words to heart in your responses.

With Regards,

DP

Leave a Reply

